top of page

Life As A King Content Intern (Part 1)


What aspect of content marketing are you most passionate about? Content marketing is the product of too many “You’re the 1,000,000th visitor, collect your $1000 here!” ads. In addition to a brand’s core purpose, content marketing allows brands to develop, whilst also helping society’s informational needs.

What did you want to be when you grew up?

I always wanted to be a Rockstar thanks to The Wiggles.

My favourite app is:

Snapchat – it’s made my screenshotting game a lot stronger.

Favourite ad/marketing campaign is:

The iconic ad ‘Not Happy, Jan’ takes a very Australian, light-hearted way to show the ramifications of not remembering the deadline.

Marketing firms notoriously take advantage of their interns to fuel their staff’s widespread caffeine addictions. Unreliable sources indicate that 63% of Nescafe’s revenue stems from the marketing industry. Going into this internship, I had a strong, preconceived idea of what an internship would be like. I thought that by the end of it, I would remember people by their barista-brewed beverage of choice and would have six-pack abs from the repeated 100-yard dashes to the local café down the road. Although the latter does not seem all that bad, the primary purpose of an internship is to learn.

As I walked into the King Content office for my first day, I wasn’t expecting any learning to occur during my internship. However, this expectation was very quickly blown away. Within moments, I found myself being amicably introduced to all the staff in the office. We then moved on to the think-tank/brain-storming session that is the fortnightly Creative Cornflakes.

Thinking is a bit of an ask on an early Monday morning, but the Creative Cornflakes session was surprisingly engaging and productive! The free food helped, but it is really King Content’s open and creative dynamic that drives the success of these meetings. Essentially, we were assigned into groups, which would have to come up with ideas for a social media/native campaign. I found the process a great experience, as everyone was so positive and open to novel ideas. I wasn’t shunned as the ‘new guy’ and I felt as though my voice was being heard and taken seriously. The support staff in the office were also engaged in the process, which further highlights the company’s all-inclusive approach. Creativity can come from anywhere, from anyone, at any time, and it was so refreshing to see that King Content has this attitude. After my first experience with a professional think-tank, the two other interns and I moved on to a day of conversations with King Content’s very enthusiastic managers. We learnt about King Content’s point of difference and the various business functions that make things happen. We interns could see that these are people who truly do enjoy their work, which speaks to the swift growth of King Content’s client portfolio. This validated my ambition to work in the marketing industry. If my career can replicate King Content’s success and I can still be as excited to work in the industry as this team is, then this is definitely what I want to do.

Originally posted at https://www.kingcontent.com.au/blog/life-as-a-king-content-intern/


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page