top of page

Life As A King Content Intern (Part 2)


Generally, I am not a fan of sequels. They tend to lack the creative ambition and authenticity of the first instalment, all in an obvious ploy to milk the money cow dry.

Although inherently a sequel, this internship blog post will aim to achieve something that parallels The Empire Strikes Back and Terminator 2: Judgment Day in superiority. Ambitious? While I set the bar pretty darned high in the previous post, I think it’s safe to say that even George Lucas would learn something from this instalment. The main thing is that sometimes sequels don’t earn you millions of dollars at the box office. However, I’m open to any film adaption offers you might have.

Anyway, so the King Content internship is going well. It seems the six-pack abs I expected to get from the endless coffee runs are not even close to coming through, which is good. In fact, I am learning so much every day, and everyone here is more than happy to help with the daily tasks I’m assigned.

The concept and processes of content marketing are starting to become clear, and I find myself developing a strong passion for strategy. I think this growing passion has been facilitated by the autonomous, yet at the same time collaborative, dynamic here, which allows you to do things at your own pace and to the best of your ability.

One thing I find rather amusing about King Content’s autonomous dynamic, though, is how it sometimes seems as though everyone is just stuffing around on Facebook. But that’s the beauty of content marketing – you can get away with watching endless cat videos and deem it ‘research’.

Kitten aside, the social content that King Content is generating seems to be working very well for clients. Namely Lenovo Australia and New Zealand, which has garnered an impressive amount of Facebook likes as a result of King Content’s management of its page. The Lenovo posts are interesting, brand relevant and unique, and consumer engagement has been very positive accordingly. Although the posts don’t always generate as many likes or shares as are ideal, long-term consistency is the key with content marketing and every post helps to build brand affinity. It’s this brand affinity that makes people more likely to consider and ultimately purchase the brand. Learning things like this make the increasing ownership of Lenovo computers at my university seem less of a coincidence.

Over the past three weeks I have already learnt so much. From writing (self-evident) to content marketing strategy, social listening to Communiqué, it has all been so valuable to my skill set. I’m very eager to see what else I can learn over the next couple of weeks. Until next time.

Oh, and Luke, I am your father.

Best. Sequel. Ever.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page